Readings 7: The Truth or Fiction – Digital Photography

Photoshop and Photography: When Is It Real?

As I answer this blog, the reader needs to keep in mind that I am a hopeful Graphic Designer, which will probably use Photoshop quite often in my career. I will try not to be biased. As a student reading this article, as opposed to someone who is already in the workplace and dealing with real life, I feel there is room for both photography and Photoshop. A photographer does set up his or her picture, and does some manipulating, but not as sophisticated as Photoshop after the fact; both manipulate reality to some degree. Since both are considered different genres, I think there should be two separate awards next year; it’s not fair to compare apples to oranges. I also think there is room and opportunity in this world for both. Some spontaneous pictures taken in nature can never be replaced by Photoshop. Do you believe photography and Photoshop contradict each other or complement each other? Do you believe that this discussion hurts or helps the fields of photography and Photoshop?

Blame Photoshop, Not Diabetes, for This Amputation

Hooray for Bob Garfield of NPR! His opinion was right on target. It was silly that they chose to Photoshop an actor, but we should not loose sleep over this. The statistics are correct, people are loosing limbs due to diabetes, and we are taking in way too much sugar as a society. Are we going to look at every advertisement we see, and question whether it is a paid actor or not? That is going overboard; it is the message that is important. Sometimes, we need to be creative to get it across, and as long as it is an accurate message, then we shouldn’t worry about it. I do feel, however, that this could of been avoided by finding someone with an amputated leg. Does that mean that he would have to wear shorts to prove it, or could he wear pants and his prosthetic? Obviously, the soda companies were looking for any way to hurt the campaign, when they are really hurting all of us. Do you believe that this photoshopping is an issue in this case, or is it a distraction from the main point? Does the  fact that the picture is photoshopped makes the problem less real? 

Smile and Say ‘No Photoshop’

So, today it seems to be more fashionable not to photo finish, and keep things real. I think that this will go back and forth with time and subject matter. I am totally against making girls or women even skinnier than they are because of the health ramifications, and eating disorders that can be exacerbated. I do not think that it really matters in other cases, as long as no one is hurt by it. We are talking about ad campaigns, and so what if a nose or someone’s skin is tweaked to look better. Is society dictating to the media what we want to see, reality or truth vs. touchups, or is the media dictating to the society how we should look? I think that today, it is a little bit of both. So, depending on the readership and the subject matter, we will probably continue to see both, and the extremes of both. I do believe that magazines, or any other source, needs to get permission from the person being photoshopped; it should never be a surprise to them. I can’t help but wonder how I would feel if something as beautiful and not perfect, like the portrait of Mona Lisa, would be photoshopped and uploaded; I would be horrified. Do you think that there should be limits to what can be photo finished? Do you believe that this topic will continue to go back and forth in time, as society keeps changing its mind on how it feels about photo finishing? 

I Was There. Just Ask Photoshop

Wow! My first response to this article is, as long as it is your picture and your property, you can do anything you want with it. There are definitely a few pictures that I wouldn’t mind changing around, but I am not sure how I would feel about that in 50 years. I think that I would want to remember things precisely as they occurred, with all the imperfections. This would include people that might bring up all types of memories, and not all good. However, I have it in my right to change my own pictures as I see fit. What is scary is how this technology could help some people change history. There are history textbooks that have removed pictures of the Civil War, specifically slavery, as well as atrocities done to the Native Americans. We cannot allow history to be changed with the use of this technology. The leaders of Iran have convinced their population that the Holocaust never occurred, and have erased all pictures and proof from their citizens. So, there is a line between us creating our own realities for personal use, and the dangers of creating realities for political and social use. This is a bit too Orwellian for me. Do you believe this could find its way for other than personal uses, and can that be prevented? Generally speaking, do you approve of this idea of changing realities, and its ramifications? Does it make you comfortable or uncomfortable? Personally, it makes me feel uncomfortable. 

No Boo-boos or Cowlicks? Only in School Pictures

Michael made the right choice; a picture without his birthmark on his forehead is not him. He realized that his whole self included his imperfections, or what is perceived as imperfections. I had an opportunity to photo finish my high school senior picture, as I was sunburned. I allowed the company to slightly photo finish it, as the sunburn was not my usual self. I am happy that I allowed them to do it. However, I would never consider changing my eye color, or anything that changes my appearance. Do you believe that five-year- olds are old enough to make a decision about photo finishing? Do you believe that Dr. Peterson is right, and we need to encourage accepting for who we are, and how we really look? Do you think that if Dr. Peterson was a plastic surgeon, as opposed to a psychiatrist, we would hear the same opinion for him? 

12 thoughts on “Readings 7: The Truth or Fiction – Digital Photography

  1. Photoshop and Photography: When Is It Real?

    When photography was first invented, its overwhelming power came from the fact that it “documented” nature more realistically than any other art form had ever done before. As a consequence, people trusted it and believed it portrayed “reality” and “truth.” However, with the invention of programs such as Photoshop people started to manipulate and enhance their images. They had to deal with questions of both ethics and aesthetics (they still do). Ethics means that they have to conform to certain accepted standards, while aesthetics deals with art/taste/things that are pleasing in appearance. And here comes the question.. when does the quest for aesthetics violate our ethics? I believe that every single person has his own opinion on this topic. As far as I am concerned, I would say that I don’t see anything wrong with using Photoshop (especially when I am digitally manipulating photos that originally belong to me). As I said in my blog, I consider myself a creative person and I believe that I have a very keen imagination. I feel awesome when I see a particular thing I imagined on a piece of paper/photograph or a screen. It is a great feeling and I wouldn’t be able to do it without Photoshop. That’s why I believe that photography and Photoshop complement each other.
    I wouldn’t say that this discussion hurts the fields of photography and Photoshop. It doesn’t help either. There is a list of things that people do to and for photography in the article, which is kind of obvious. I am pretty sure that every single one of us knows most of the things.

  2. Blame Photoshop, Not Diabetes, for This Amputation

    To tell you the truth, I never wonder whether a particular person on a billboard is an actor or not. Billboards nowadays surround us.. we probably see more than hundreds of them every single week, so we don’t even pay attention to them anymore. However, if a particular billboard catches my eye I wouldn’t think about the person on it (if there is any). I would probably think about its concept and idea. However, I must say that I was completely astounded when we watched that video in class on Friday (about that model, who looked completely different after the stylists put some make up on her face and changed the size of her eyes and mouth in Photoshop). In the end she looked gorgeous, so they put her photo on a billboard. Most of the people who saw this billboard probably thought that this is the way she really looks like.
    Anyway.. As I said in my blog, I believe that disabled people should be represented by disabled ones in ads. The question you posed about the shorts in this situation is a pretty interesting one. If the person is wearing jeans, nobody will notice his disability and, as a consequence, the ad won’t succeed in its attempt to convey its message. What is worth mentioning here, though, is the fact that probably there wouldn’t be many volunteers who will be willing to pose like this and reveal their disabilities. Photoshopping is definitely an issue in this case and it really changes the main idea of this ad. Somehow the ad looses its authenticity.

  3. Smile and Say “No Photoshop”

    In my opinion, it is the media dictating to society how we should look like. All these magazines with hundreds of glossy photos inside somehow influence the readers (especially the younger generations). Girls try to imitate the celebrities showed in these magazines – they want to dress like them, they want to act like them, and the most important thing – they want to look like them (which is kind of impossible, because none of these images is real).
    Of course there should be limits to what can be photo finished. Especially when it comes to photos, that are going to be used in magazines/newspapers/media in general. Nowadays there is almost no limit to what can be done to an image. Some of the changes that can be made are so undetectable that there is now discussion that photographs will no longer be allowed as evidence in law courts. With the existence of such powerful programs as Photoshop anything can be done to a particular image. We can see motorcyclists being chased by a tornado, Justin Bieber having 6-pack, etc.. there are hundreds of thousands of examples and each one these examples is more interesting than the previous.
    I do believe that this topic will continue to go back and forth in time. It is something that is not going to be easily forgotten. People will continue to manipulate images no matter what (at least for now).

  4. No Boo-boos or Cowlicks? Only in School Pictures

    Five-year-olds definitely can’t make a decision about photo finishing. Michael (from the article) is 7-8 years old, though. And when his mother gave him the opportunity to choose whether to edit his birthmark out or not, he chose the second option. He realized that a photo without his birthmark won’t be a photo of him. I would say that this is a pretty smart decision, because Michael obviously realizes the fact that he has certain imperfections, and yet, he is perfectly fine with this.
    We definitely need to encourage accepting for who we are and how we really look like. As I said in my blog, I think that people have to consider the psychological impact of these potential digital manipulations on children. There is a high probability that a 7-8 year old kid wouldn’t be able to comprehend the idea behind retouching. Photoshopping a particular photo will automatically tickle the kid’s fancy and, as a result, he/she is going to start asking questions such as: What’s wrong with me? Do I look bad? etc… In the end, kids will be left with the impression that they are not beautiful enough to be on a certain photo as they are..
    If Dr. Peterson was a plastic surgeon, as opposed to a psychiatrist, I believe that he would share the same opinion. I mean.. we are talking about children here.. little children. Nobody wants to encourage kids in when it comes to changing their appearance.

  5. I Was There. Just Ask Photoshop

    As long as my photos are concerned, I am perfectly okay with the idea of incorporating Photoshop in them. And I am not talking about family photos or photos with friends. I am talking about some random photos that I took while strolling at the park, for instance. When I use Photoshop I use it mainly to retouch landscape photos. I love to enhance the colors.. this gives more liveliness, more vivacity to the atmosphere,; it just makes the whole image more explicit. Moreover, I don’t use this photos for any commercial purposes, so I don’t see anything wrong with this.

  6. Pingback: Readings 7: Reading Partner | Inna Boycheva

  7. Photoshop and Photography: When Is It Real?
    Do you believe photography and Photoshop contradict each other or complement each other?
    They do not contradict each other but complement. Pictures can be turned into works of art that would be near impossible for it to happen naturally. Not all art even paintings are of things that are real
    Do you believe that this discussion hurts or helps the fields of photography and Photoshop?
    It brings more awareness to the fact that it is a growing problem that Photoshop has changed the way people view photography in general.Over time we might make a compromise where there are untouched photos and Photoshopped ones competing in different categories.

  8. Blame Photoshop, Not Diabetes, for This Amputation
    Do you believe that this photoshopping is an issue in this case, or is it a distraction from the main point?
    The lie that was found about the person does not bring an end to the problem that they were trying to get the public aware of. I do think it hurt their campaign because of the lie that was found.
    Does the fact that the picture is photoshopped makes the problem less real?
    The problem is still around you can’t Photoshop our this real life problem. Diabetes is a growing problem and people were trying to help spread awareness but ended up being caught in a situation they did not expect.

  9. Smile and Say ‘No Photoshop’
    Do you think that there should be limits to what can be photo finished?
    Limits as helpful as they are can be a huge problem people have to skew their ideas and styles to fit a sense of guidelines. Artists are not always know for following rules and it could cause a huge problem and strife in the art and photo world.
    Do you believe that this topic will continue to go back and forth in time, as society keeps changing its mind on how it feels about photo finishing?
    Im optimistic that we will eventually find some common ground that is the best for both sides of the equation so there is not s huge split in the world of photo. Its best to let time sort it out and let people know that there is still a problem.

  10. I Was There. Just Ask Photoshop
    Do you believe this could find its way for other than personal uses, and can that be prevented?
    i believe that Photoshop is used in making fake ids all around the world because it is a great tool for editing. For a fake id to be real it has to look the part.

    Generally speaking, do you approve of this idea of changing realities, and its ramifications? Does it make you comfortable or uncomfortable? Personally, it makes me feel uncomfortable.
    Reality is what we perceive and for each person their reality is different from another. We can imagine to stand in their shoes but cant actually stand in them or truly understand the life of another. Who are we to change someones life where they are happy and blissful because of our own ideals.

  11. No Boo-boos or Cowlicks? Only in School Pictures
    Do you believe that Dr. Peterson is right, and we need to encourage accepting for who we are, and how we really look?
    If a person is unhappy with themselves they need to up and change themselves. Photoshopping a new you is only hiding and burring the problems that you and everyone else can see. Better to change them for real so you don’t keep living in a lie.

    Do you think that if Dr. Peterson was a plastic surgeon, as opposed to a psychiatrist, we would hear the same opinion for him?
    No i believe that his opinion would be around the same. Plastic surgeon live of the changes that people want to make in themselves. He is making the lives of others better because they an see themselves how they want to be.

  12. Pingback: Partner responce questions | Digital Literacy

Leave a comment